Armenia, Azerbaijan reaffirm commitment to Karabakh peace process

On April 15, Moscow hosted a working meeting of Foreign Ministers of Russia, Azerbaijan and Armenia, Sergei Lavrov, Elmar Mammadyarov and Zohrab Mnatsakanyan, who were joined by OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chairs Igor Popov (Russia), Andrew Shofer (US), Stefan Visconti ), as well as the Personal Representative of the OSCE Chairperson-in-Office for Nagorno Karabakh, Andrzej Kasprzyk.

In continuation to the March 29 meeting between the President of Azerbaijan Ilham Aliyev and the Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan in Vienna, the participants discussed the situation on the border and the line of contact, as well as the prospects of cooperation in the humanitarian sphere. There was a thorough exchange of thoughts on fundamental issues of settlement.

The Foreign Ministers of Armenia and Azerbaijan reconfirmed the intentions of the parties to continue their efforts for the settlement of the Nagorno Karabakh conflict through political and diplomatic means.

Discussions focused on further stabilization of the situation in the conflict zone, particularly during the agricultural work period. They also agreed to take measures on the basis of reciprocity to allow visits of relatives of detainees on the tterritories of the parties. The ministers expressed readiness to take practical measures to establish contacts between people, including through mutual visits of mass media representatives.

The Russian Foreign Minister and the OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chairs reaffirmed their commitment to the mediation mission aimed at establishing a stable peace in the region. The meeting participants agreed to continue contacts in the near future.